Rhode Island (RI) Tax Lien Sales
|Sale Type:||Tax Lien Certificates/Tax Deeds|
|Bid Method:||Highest Bidder|
|Redemption Period:||1 Year|
|Sale Date(s):||Year Round|
|State Statute(s):||Title 44, CH 9|
Rhode Island State Overview
In Rhode Island, tax collector's sell tax deeds (hybrid tax deed) with a 1 year right of redemption. The original owner may redeem by paying the purchase price plus a 10% penalty plus 1% per month after 6 months.
- Tax Sale Type: Hybrid Tax Deed. (Sec. 44-9-12).
- Contact: Tax Collector. (Sec. 44-9-7).
- Interest Rate and/or Penalty Rate: Ten (10%) penalty if redeemed within six (6) months of the date of sale, and an additional one (1%) percent penalty for each succeeding month. (Sec. 44-9-19) and (Sec. 44-9-21).
- Bid Procedure: Premium bid / highest bid. (Sec. 44-9-8).
- Redemption Period: One (1) year. (Sec. 44-9-25).
- Law: General Laws of Rhode Island, Title 44, Chapter 9 - "Tax Sales".